Skip to content Skip to footer

state call to actioN

Spread the word!

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Reddit
Email

ARIZONA – Stop a Big Tobacco Protection Act!

current status

Bill
Introduced

Passed
Senate

Passed
House

Signed by
Governor

01/29/24 – First Reading, referred to Rules and S. Health and Human Services.

Legislation known to advocates as “PMTA Registry” legislation has been introduced and referred to the Senate Committee on Health and Human Services. This bill, SB 1212 appears to have stalled in committee, but this is not stopping proponents. Another bill, SB 1365, is expected to be substituted with a vapor product directory bill in the House Ways and Means Committee on

  • Wendesday, March 20, 2024
  • 10:00 AM
  • Room HHR 1
  • Committee Contact Info:


Ways and Means
Neil Carter (District 15) – 602-926-5761 ncarter@azleg.gov

Justin Heap (District 10) – 602-926-4181 jheap@azleg.gov

Seth Blattman (District 9) – 602-926-3996 sblattman@azleg.gov

M. Carbone (District 25) – 602-926-4038 mcarbone@azleg.gov

Quanta Crews(District 26) – 602-926-3256 qcrews@azleg.gov

T. Grantham (District 14) – 602-926-4868 tgrantham@azleg.gov

D. Livingston (District 28) – 602-926-4178 dlivingston@azleg.gov

Jennifer Pawlik(District 13) – 602-926-3193 jpawlik@azleg.gov

Mariana Sandoval(District 23) – 602-926-3740 msandoval@azleg.gov

Comma delimited email list (use to contact the entire committee at once):

ncarter@azleg.gov, jheap@azleg.gov, sblattman@azleg.gov, mcarbone@azleg.gov, qcrews@azleg.gov, tgrantham@azleg.gov, dlivingston@azleg.gov, jpawlik@azleg.gov, msandoval@azleg.gov

If enacted, this law would effectively make the state of Arizona an enforcement arm of the Food and Drug Administration empowering state authorities to enforce the disastrous federal anti-vaping regulations. This would put hundreds of independent vape shops out of business, hundreds of workers out of jobs, and thousands of people at risk of returning to smoking, or delaying attempts at quitting.

Please take a minute to send an email to your lawmakers urging them to oppose SB 1365!

  • Tell your lawmakers that this legislation is more about protecting Big Tobacco profits than improving public health and share your personal story about switching to vaping.
  • SB 1365 will close down hundreds of small businesses and put hundreds of workers out of a job.
  • The state doesn’t need to carry water for the FDA by enforcing its disastrous anti-vaping regulations.
  • FDA has arbitrarily denied marketing orders for nearly 1 million products and is failing to move forward with authorizing others.
  • If SB 1365 is enacted, consumers will only have access to a handful of products that have applications pending, or are authorized by FDA.
  • Be brief, be kind, and say thank you 🙂

SB 1212

Bill Page

Take Action Now!

We strongly encourage our members to customize the email below and personalize the message. Just click in the text box to make changes!