the state of
State Legislative Info
Looking for the
Join your state's Facebook group!
Share news, events, and upcoming legislation with other members near you
current laws & taxes
regulating smokeless tobacco & vapor products
9 tips for being an advocate
with national calls to action
Alaska CALLS TO ACTION
No Calls to Action?
If you’re seeing this post it means that CASAA hasn’t issued any Calls to Action for your state, or that
Find Your Legislators
Alaska LAWS & TAXES
- The minimum age requirement for the purchase of tobacco products and nicotine products, including vapor products, is 19 years old.1
- It is unlawful for minors to knowingly possess tobacco products, and a person who violates this law is guilty of a violation. (ALASKA STAT. Â§ 11.76.105 1995).1
- Alaska Statute 18.35.300, which regulates smoking in certain places, has been amended (finalized on 7.18.2018, CHAPTER 60 SLA 18) to prohibit the use of vapor products where smoking is prohibited. The state’s definition of “smoking” includes the use of vapor products, however, the statute exempts vape shops that were open prior to 2017 and those with special ventilation.5
- Alaska’s Smokefree Alaska Law has been amended to prohibit the use of vapor products where smoking is prohibited.2
Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019 prohibits sales of all tobacco and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. FDA stated law became effective on that date. States may choose to continue with current age law at the risk of losing federal funding.
Flavor Bans: Federal law prohibits the sale of closed system devices (pods, cartridges) containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco or menthol.
- All non-cigarette tobacco products are taxed at 75% of wholesale.3
- In addition to federal and state tax, many Alaska counties and municipalities levy a tax on smoke-free tobacco products.4
- Vapor products sold in Alaska are not subject to tobacco taxes at the state level, but several municipalities have levied their own tax, such as the 55% wholesale tax in Matanuska Susitna Borough and a 45% wholesale tax in Juneau, Petersburg and NW Arctic Borough.6
Updated February 2023