the state of
State Legislative Info
Looking for the
Join your state's Facebook group!
Share news, events, and upcoming legislation with other members near you
current laws & taxes
regulating smokeless tobacco & vapor products
9 tips for being an advocate
with national calls to action
Find Your Legislators
Georgia LAWS & TAXES
- It is unlawful for any person knowingly to sell or barter, directly or indirectly, any cigarettes, tobacco products, tobacco related objects, alternative nicotine products, or vapor products to a minor.1
- It shall be unlawful for any minor to purchase, attempt to purchase, or possess for personal use any cigarettes, tobacco products, tobacco related objects, alternative nicotine products, or vapor products.1
- Georgia’s Clean Indoor Air Act has not been amended to prohibit the use of vapor products where smoking is prohibited. However, vaping is prohibited only on all campuses of University System of Georgia, and in all Roswell city parks.2
- The following municipalities have ordinances that prohibit vaping where smoking is prohibited (some exclude bars, restaurants and/or vape and tobacco shops): Atlanta, Augusta, Barnwell, Chamblee, Chatham County, Pooler, Savannah, Snellville and DeKalb County.2
Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019 prohibits sales of all tobacco and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. FDA stated law became effective on that date. States may choose to continue with current age law at the risk of losing federal funding.
Flavor Bans: Federal law prohibits the sale of closed system devices (pods, cartridges) containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco or menthol.
- Smoke-free tobacco has an excise tax rate of 10% of the wholesale cost.3
- As of January 1, 2021, Georgia will tax closed vapor systems at a rate of 5 cents per milliliter; open systems and pre-filled refillable devices will be taxed at a rate of 7% of the wholesale cost.