the state of
State Legislative Info
Looking for the
Join your state's Facebook group!
Share news, events, and upcoming legislation with other members near you
current laws & taxes
regulating smokeless tobacco & vapor products
9 tips for being an advocate
with national calls to action
Hawaii CALLS TO ACTION
Find Your Legislators
Hawaii LAWS & TAXES
- It shall be unlawful to sell or furnish a tobacco product in any shape or form or an electronic smoking device to a person under 21 years of age.1
- It shall be unlawful for a person under 21 years of age to purchase or possess any tobacco product or electronic smoking device.1,2
- Hawaii’s Clean Indoor Air Act has been amended to prohibit the use of vapor products where smoking is prohibited.3,4
- It is unlawful to smoke, vape or use any tobacco product in the state park system.7
Tobacco/Vapor Sales Bans:
Delivery sales of electronic smoking devices require third-party age verification, copy of government issued identification or age and signature verification in shipment process upon and before actual delivery and face-to-face sales are required. This requirement effectively bans online sales.6
Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019 prohibits sales of all tobacco and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. FDA stated law became effective on that date. States may choose to continue with current age law at the risk of losing federal funding. Hawaii already bans the sale of tobacco and vapor products to minors and adults under the age of 21 years old.
Flavor Bans: Federal law prohibits the sale of closed system devices (pods, cartridges) containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco or menthol.
- Smoke-free tobacco/snuff are subject to a state excise tax of 70% / wholesale price.5
- Vapor products do not have an additional state excise tax.
Updated February 2023