Skip to content Skip to footer

the state of


State Legislative Info


Laura Kelly
300 SW 10th Ave Ste. 241S
Topeka, KS 66612-1590
Phone: (877) 579-6757


Secretary of Senate
Corey Carnahan
300 SW 10th Ave Rm 325-E
Topeka, KS 66612-1504
Phone: (785) 296-2456
Fax: (785) 296-6718

THE house

Chief Clerk
Susan W. Kannarr
300 SW 10th Ave Rm 272-W
Topeka, KS 66612-1504
Phone: (785) 296-7633
Fax: (785) 291-3531

Looking for the
latest info?
Join your state's Facebook group!

Share news, events, and upcoming legislation with other members near you

current laws & taxes

regulating smokeless tobacco & vapor products

9 tips for being an advocate

Get Involved

with national calls to action


Find Your Legislators



  • It is unlawful to sell, furnish or distribute cigarettes, electronic cigarettes or tobacco products to any person under 21 years of age.3
  • It is unlawful for a person under 21 years of age to purchase or attempt to purchase cigarettes, electronic cigarettes or tobacco products.3   
  • Each person engaged in the business of selling cigarettes or electronic cigarettes in the state of Kansas shall obtain a license.4
  • Kansas’ Clean Indoor Air Act has not been amended to prohibit the use of vapor products where smoking is prohibited. However, vaping is prohibited on all Department of Corrections property and grounds.5
  • The following municipalities have ordinances that prohibit vaping where smoking is prohibited (some exclude bars and restaurants): Abilene, Eudora, Hutchinson, Johnson County, Kansas City/Wyandotte County. Lenexa, Manhattan, McPherson, Mission, Olathe, Overland Park, Park City, Topeka, Westwood Hills, Wyandotte County.5

Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019 prohibits sales of all tobacco and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. FDA stated law became effective on that date. States may choose to continue with current age law at the risk of losing federal funding. Bonner Springs, Douglas County, Garden City, Holcomb, Iola, Johnson County, Kansas City/Wyandotte City, Lansing, Leavenworth, Leawood, Lenexa, Merriam, Mission Hills, Olathe, Overland Park, Parsons, Peculiar, Prairie Village, Raymore, Roeland Park, Shawnee County, Topeka (Pending court challenge), Westwood Hills and Westwood currently prohibit sales to persons under 21 years old.

Flavor Bans: Federal law prohibits the sale of closed system devices (pods, cartridges) containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco or menthol.

9 Tips for Being an Advocate

get to know your lawmakers

and where they stand on important issues. If you can, set up a face-to-face meeting to express your concerns. Otherwise, call or send a letter or email.

track local legislation

through your municipal websites using keyword alerts. City officials can help you set these up.

share casaa calls to action

on social media and with friends and family.

complete our calls to action

sharing them is great, but make sure you complete our CTAs yourself and make your voice heard!

hearings & meetings

even if you don't feel comfortable speaking, just being physically present can make a huge impact when many people show up to show their support for those speaking.

register to vote

and make sure you participate in local, state, and federal elections.

alert casaa
to local legislation

in your area. We rely on crowdsourcing some information from our members - no one knows your community better than you!

spread the word

encourage everyone you know to join CASAA and participate in CTAs. Our strength is in our numbers!

follow us on social media

for access to the latest news, science, and information. Be sure to join your state's Facebook group as well!
We Can't Do It Without Your Support

We rely on donations from generous supporters like you.
Every little bit helps!