the state of
State Legislative Info
Looking for the
Join your state's Facebook group!
Share news, events, and upcoming legislation with other members near you
current laws & taxes
regulating smokeless tobacco & vapor products
9 tips for being an advocate
with national calls to action
Find Your Legislators
Massachusetts LAWS & TAXES
- The sale of tobacco and vapor products to persons under age 18 is prohibited.1
- Sampling in vapor shops is prohibited.1
- Liquids containing nicotine must be sold in child-resistant packaging.1
- Massachusetts’ Clean Indoor Air Act has not been amended to prohibit the use of vapor products where smoking is prohibited. However, vaping is banned on all state college & university campuses.2
- The following municipalities have ordinances that prohibit vaping where smoking is prohibited (some exclude bars and restaurants): Acton, Adams, Amherst, Andover, Arlington, Ashland, Athol, Attleboro, Auburn, Barre, Billerica, Bolton, Boston, Bourne, Bridgewater, Buckland, Burlington, Cambridge, Charlemont, Cohasset, Concord, Dartmouth, Dedham, Deerfield, Dighton, Dover, Dracut, Eastham, Easthampton, Fairhaven, Fitchburg, Foxborough, Franklin, Gardner, Gill, Gloucester, Grafton, Granby, Great Barrington, Greenfield, Halifax, Hamilton, Hatfield, Haverhill, Holyoke, Hubbardston, Hudson, Hull, Lee, Leicester, Lenox, Leominster, Leverett, Lexington, Lynn, Lynnfield, Marblehead, Marion, Marlborough, Marshfield, Mashpee, Medfield, Medway, Methuen, Milford, Montague, Natick, Needham, New Bedford, Newburyport, Newton, Northhampton, North Andover, North Attleborough, North Reading, Orange, Orleans, Oxford, Pittsfield, Plainville, Provincetown, Reading, Rockland, Salem, Saugus, Sharon, Shelburne, Sherborn, Shrewsbury, Somerset, Somerville, South Hadley, Stockridge, Sunderland, Sutton, Swampscott, Swansea, Taunton, Tewksbury, Townsend, Tynsborough, Wakefield, Watertown, Wayland, Webster, Wendell, West Springfield, Westminster, Westport, Westwood, Weymouth, Whately, Williamstown, Winchendon, Winchester, Worcester, Yarmouth2
- All sales of flavored tobacco/vapor products are restricted to smoking bars for on site consumption or online sales to out-of state purchasers only. Vapor products containing more than 35 mg/mL of nicotine are restricted to specialty tobacco stores and smoking bars. These requirements could cause many out-of-state online retailers to refuse to ship to the state.4
Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019 prohibits sales of all tobacco and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. FDA stated law became effective on that date. States may choose to continue with current age law at the risk of losing federal funding. Massachusetts already bans the sale of tobacco and vapor products to adults under the age of 21 years old.
Flavor Bans: Federal law prohibits the sale of closed system devices (pods, cartridges) containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco or menthol. A statewide ban on the sale of all non-tobacco flavored tobacco and vapor products was passed by the legislature and signed into law by Governor Baker. The ban took effect immediately, while a ban on menthol cigarettes takes effect June 1, 2020.
Municipalities in Massachusetts that had already enacted their own ban on flavored vapor products include Ashland, Brewster, Brockton, Brookline, Buckland, Cambridge, Canton, Carver, Charlemont, Chatham, Chelsea, Chelmsford, Clinton, Cohasset, Concord, Conway, Danvers, Dedham, Deerfield, Dracut, Duxbury, Easthampton, E. Longmeadow, Easton, Edgartown, Essex, Everett, Fairhaven, Fitchburg, Framingham, Franklin, Gardner, Gill, Gloucester, Grafton, Granby, Greenfield, Groton, Hadley, Halifax, Hamilton, Harvard, Hatfield, Haverhill, Holbrook, Holden, Holyoke, Hopkinton, Ipswich, Lancaster, Lanesboro, Lawrence, Leominster, Lee, Lenox, Leverett, Lowell, Ludlow, Lynn, Lynnfild, Malden, Marblehead, Marion, Marlboro, Marshfield, Mashpee, Maynard, Medfield, Medford, Melrose, Methuen, Middleton, Millis, Milton, Montague, Natick, Needham, Newburyport, Newton, Norfolk, North Adams, North Andover, North Attleboro, Northampton, North Reading, Norton, Norwell, Norwood, Oak Bluffs, Orange, Orleans, Palmer, Peabody, Pittsfield, Provincetown, Reading, Rockport, Royalston, Salem, Sandwich, Saugus, Sharon, Shelburne, Sherborn, Somerville, Southampton, South Hadley, Spencer, Stockbrdge, Stoneham, Stoughton, Stow, Sudbury, Sunderland, Templeton, Tewksbury, Topsfield, Townsend, Tyngsboro, Upton, Uxbridge, Wakefield, Walpole, Wareham, Watertown, Webster, Wellfleet, West Boylston, Westboro, Westford, Westminster, Whately, Wilbraham, Williamstown, Wilmington, Winchendon, Winchester, Winthrop, Worchester, Yarmouth
- Smoke-free tobacco products are subject to a state excise tax of 40% of the wholesale price.3
- Vapor products have a state excise tax of 75% the wholesale cost. Additionally, consumers in possession of vapor products are required to produce evidence that the tax was paid on the products or face a fine of $5,000 for the first offense, $25,000 for additional offenses along with immediate seizure of the products.