the state of
State Legislative Info
Looking for the
Join your state's Facebook group!
Share news, events, and upcoming legislation with other members near you
current laws & taxes
regulating smokeless tobacco & vapor products
9 tips for being an advocate
with national calls to action
Missouri CALLS TO ACTION
Support HB 517 which would prohibit local governments in Missouri from making laws regulating the sale of vapor and alternative nicotine products. Local governments would still be allowed to tax these products, but rules about where and what products can be sold are reserved for the state.
SB 124 would subject vapor products to Missouri’s 10% tax on “other tobacco products” (or OTP) and ban vaping in the same places where smoking is prohibited. This bill would also raise the minimum sales age for tobacco and nicotine products from 18 to 21.
In the midst of a pandemic and while all eyes are on a national election, the Kansas City, Missouri City Council is deciding to move forward with an ordinance that would ban the sale of flavored vapor products and other smoke-free nicotine and tobacco products.
Find Your Legislators
Missouri LAWS & TAXES
- Any person or entity who sells tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, or vapor products shall deny the sale of such tobacco products to any person who is less than 18 years of age.1
- Nicotine liquid containers must be child-resistant (except prefilled containers not intended to be opened by consumer).1
- A retail license or permit is required to sell vapor products.1
- Missouri’s Clean Indoor Air Act has not been amended to prohibit the use of vapor products where smoking is prohibited.
- The following municipalities have ordinances that prohibit vaping where smoking is prohibited (some exclude bars and restaurants): Branson, Clinton, Columbia, Creve Coeur, Farmington, Gainesville, Kansas City, Nevada, Plattsburg, Washington, Warrensburg, West Plains
Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019 prohibits sales of all tobacco and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. FDA stated law became effective on that date. States may choose to continue with current age law at the risk of losing federal funding. Columbia, Crestwood, Des Peres, Eldon, Excelsior Springs, Gladstone, Grandview, Independence, Jackson County, Jefferson County, Kansas City, Lee’s Summit, Liberty, Oak Grove, Parkville, Raymore, St. Louis County and St. Louis City already prohibit sales of tobacco and vapor products to persons under the age of 21 years old.
Flavor Bans: Federal law prohibits the sale of closed system devices (pods, cartridges) containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco or menthol.
- Smoke-free tobacco products are subject to a state excise tax of 10% of the manufacturer’s price.2
- Vapor products do not have an additional state excise tax.