Skip to content Skip to footer

the state of


State Legislative Info


Michael L. Parson
Office of Governor
P.O. Box 720
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573) 751-3222


Secretary of the Senate
Adriane D. Crouse
600 W. Main Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Phone: (573) 751-4936

THE house

Chief Clerk
Dana Rademan Miller
201 West Capitol Ave Room 310
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Phone: (573) 751-4017

Looking for the
latest info?
Join your state's Facebook group!

Share news, events, and upcoming legislation with other members near you

current laws & taxes

regulating smokeless tobacco & vapor products

9 tips for being an advocate

Get Involved

with national calls to action


Find Your Legislators

Missouri LAWS & TAXES


  • Any person or entity who sells tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, or vapor products shall deny the sale of such tobacco products to any person who is less than 18 years of age.1
  • It is unlawful for a person less than 18 years of age shall purchase, attempt to purchase or possess cigarettes, other tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, or vapor products.3
  • Nicotine liquid containers must be child-resistant (except prefilled containers not intended to be opened by consumer).1
  • A retail license or permit is required to sell vapor products.1
  • Missouri’s Clean Indoor Air Act has not been amended to prohibit the use of vapor products where smoking is prohibited.
  • The following municipalities have ordinances that prohibit vaping where smoking is prohibited (some exclude bars and restaurants): Belton, Branson, Branson West, Clinton, Columbia, Creve Coeur, Farmington, Gainesville, Higginsville, Holt’s Summit, Kansas City, Lee’s Summit, Monett, Nevada, Plattsburg, St. Joseph, Washington, Warrensburg and West Plains.

Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019 prohibits sales of all tobacco and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. FDA stated law became effective on that date. States may choose to continue with current age law at the risk of losing federal funding. Columbia, Crestwood, Des Peres, Eldon, Excelsior Springs, Gladstone, Grandview, Independence, Jackson County, Jefferson County, Kansas City, Kearney, Lee’s Summit, Liberty, Oak Grove, Parkville, Raymore, St. Louis County and St. Louis City already prohibit sales of tobacco and vapor products to persons under the age of 21 years old.

Flavor Bans: Federal law prohibits the sale of closed system devices (pods, cartridges) containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco or menthol.


  • Smoke-free tobacco products are subject to a state excise tax of 10% of the manufacturer’s price.2
  • Vapor products do not have an additional state excise tax.

Updated April 2024

9 Tips for Being an Advocate

get to know your lawmakers

and where they stand on important issues. If you can, set up a face-to-face meeting to express your concerns. Otherwise, call or send a letter or email.

track local legislation

through your municipal websites using keyword alerts. City officials can help you set these up.

share casaa calls to action

on social media and with friends and family.

complete our calls to action

sharing them is great, but make sure you complete our CTAs yourself and make your voice heard!

hearings & meetings

even if you don't feel comfortable speaking, just being physically present can make a huge impact when many people show up to show their support for those speaking.

register to vote

and make sure you participate in local, state, and federal elections.

alert casaa
to local legislation

in your area. We rely on crowdsourcing some information from our members - no one knows your community better than you!

spread the word

encourage everyone you know to join CASAA and participate in CTAs. Our strength is in our numbers!

follow us on social media

for access to the latest news, science, and information. Be sure to join your state's Facebook group as well!
We Can't Do It Without Your Support

We rely on donations from generous supporters like you.
Every little bit helps!