Skip to content Skip to footer

the state of

New Hampshire

State Legislative Info


Christopher Sununu
State House
107 North Main Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-2121
Fax: (603) 271-7680


Secretary of the Senate
Tammy L. Wright
107 North Main Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-3420

THE house

Chief Clerk
Paul C. Smith
State House Room 317
107 North Main Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-2548

Looking for the
latest info?
Join your state's Facebook group!

Share news, events, and upcoming legislation with other members near you

current laws & taxes

regulating smokeless tobacco & vapor products

9 tips for being an advocate

Get Involved

with national calls to action


Find Your Legislators

New Hampshire LAWS & TAXES


  • E-cigarettes and liquid nicotine must be sold in original manufacturer packaging.1
  • Sale or distribution of vapor products and liquid nicotine to persons under age 21 is prohibited.2
  • The distribution of free vapor products or liquid nicotine is restricted to locations inaccessible to persons under age 21 or to a licensed retail tobacco store.3
  • No person under 21 years of age shall purchase, attempt to purchase, possess, or use any tobacco product, e-cigarette, or liquid nicotine.4
  • New Hampshire’s Indoor Smoking Act has been amended to prohibit the use of vapor products where smoking is prohibited.6

Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019 prohibits sales of all tobacco and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. FDA stated law became effective on that date. States may choose to continue with current age law at the risk of losing federal funding. Newmarket already prohibits sale of tobacco and vapor products to persons under the age of 21 years old.

Flavor Bans: Federal law prohibits the sale of closed system devices (pods, cartridges) containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco or menthol.


  • The tax rate for smoke-free tobacco products is 65.03% of the wholesale sales price.5
  • Effective January 1, 2020, the tax rate for closed system e-cigarettes is 30¢ per milliliter on the volume of the liquid, and tax rate for open system e-cigarettes is 8% of the wholesale sales price of the container of liquid.5

Updated February 2023

9 Tips for Being an Advocate

get to know your lawmakers

and where they stand on important issues. If you can, set up a face-to-face meeting to express your concerns. Otherwise, call or send a letter or email.

track local legislation

through your municipal websites using keyword alerts. City officials can help you set these up.

share casaa calls to action

on social media and with friends and family.

complete our calls to action

sharing them is great, but make sure you complete our CTAs yourself and make your voice heard!

hearings & meetings

even if you don't feel comfortable speaking, just being physically present can make a huge impact when many people show up to show their support for those speaking.

register to vote

and make sure you participate in local, state, and federal elections.

alert casaa
to local legislation

in your area. We rely on crowdsourcing some information from our members - no one knows your community better than you!

spread the word

encourage everyone you know to join CASAA and participate in CTAs. Our strength is in our numbers!

follow us on social media

for access to the latest news, science, and information. Be sure to join your state's Facebook group as well!
We Can't Do It Without Your Support

We rely on donations from generous supporters like you.
Every little bit helps!