Skip to content Skip to footer

the state of

Oregon

State Legislative Info

GOVERNOR

Kate Brown
Office of the Governor
900 Court Street NE, Suite 254
Salem, OR 97301-4047
Phone: (503) 378-4582

THE SENATE

Secretary of the Senate
Lori L. Brocker
900 Court St. NE
Salem Oregon 97301
Phone: (503) 986-1851

THE house

Office of the Chief Clerk
Timothy G. Sekerak
900 Court St. NE H-271
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: (503) 986-1870

Looking for the
latest info?
Join your state's Facebook group!

Share news, events, and upcoming legislation with other members near you

current laws & taxes

regulating smokeless tobacco & vapor products

9 tips for being an advocate

Get Involved

with national calls to action

Oregon CALLS TO ACTION

Find Your Legislators

Oregon LAWS & TAXES

laws

  • The use of vapor products in a car while a child under age 18 is present is prohibited.4
  • The use of vapor products in all public places, places of employment, jury rooms, at least 75% of hotel rooms, child care homes/centers, and within 10 feet of entrances, exits, windows or ventilation intakes of enclosed areas is prohibited.5,6,7,8,9
  • Hospitals may not permit use of vapor products in the hospital or within 10 feet of a doorway, window or ventilation intake.10
  • The use or possession of vapor products is prohibited in any Department of Human Services’ child care home or facility or within ten feet of any entrance, exit, window that opens or any ventilation intake that serves an enclosed area, during child care operational hours or anytime child care children are present.11 
  • Vapor products must be sold in child-resistant packaging which is not attractive to persons under age 18, and “labeled in accordance with rules adopted by the authority.”12,13

Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019 prohibits sales of all tobacco and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. FDA stated law became effective on that date. States may choose to continue with current age law at the risk of losing federal funding. Oregon already bans the sale of tobacco and vapor products to adults under the age of 21 years old.1

Flavor Bans: Federal law prohibits the sale of closed system devices (pods, cartridges) containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco or menthol.

A statewide flavor ban went into effect on Oct. 15, 2019, but an injunction from a state appeals court October 17, 2019 allowed  products without THC to continue being sold.

9 Tips for Being an Advocate

get to know your lawmakers

and where they stand on important issues. If you can, set up a face-to-face meeting to express your concerns. Otherwise, call or send a letter or email.
01

track local legislation

through your municipal websites using keyword alerts. City officials can help you set these up.
02

share casaa calls to action

on social media and with friends and family.
03

complete our calls to action

sharing them is great, but make sure you complete our CTAs yourself and make your voice heard!
04

Attend
hearings & meetings

even if you don't feel comfortable speaking, just being physically present can make a huge impact when many people show up to show their support for those speaking.
05

register to vote

and make sure you participate in local, state, and federal elections.
06

alert casaa
to local legislation

in your area. We rely on crowdsourcing some information from our members - no one knows your community better than you!
07

spread the word

encourage everyone you know to join CASAA and participate in CTAs. Our strength is in our numbers!
08

follow us on social media

for access to the latest news, science, and information. Be sure to join your state's Facebook group as well!
09
We Can't Do It Without Your Support

We rely on donations from generous supporters like you.
Every little bit helps!