Skip to content Skip to footer

the state of


State Legislative Info


Phil Scott
109 State Street, Pavilion
Montpelier, VT 05609
Phone: (802) 828-3333
Fax: (802) 828-3339


Secretary of the Senate
John Bloomer, Jr.
Vermont State House
115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Phone: (802) 828-2228

THE house

Clerk of the House
BetsyAnn Wrask
Vermont State House
115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Phone: (802) 828-2247

Looking for the
latest info?
Join your state's Facebook group!

Share news, events, and upcoming legislation with other members near you

current laws & taxes

regulating smokeless tobacco & vapor products

9 tips for being an advocate

Get Involved

with national calls to action


Find Your Legislators

Vermont LAWS & TAXES


  • eLiquid must be sold in child-resistant packaging, excluding pre-filled cartridges not intended to be opened by consumer.1
  • The sale and/or distribution of vapor products to persons under age 21 is prohibited.2
  • The purchase and/or possession of vapor products by persons under age 21 is prohibited.3
  • A retail license or permit is required to sell vapor products.4
  • Vermont’s Clean Indoor Air Act has been amended to prohibit the use of vapor products where smoking is prohibited. Vape shops are excluded from this restriction.6
  • The use of vapor products is prohibited in cars with young children.5
  • The use of vapor products is prohibited at child care facilities, on “public school grounds” and at sponsored events,  licensed afterschool child care programs, center based child care and preschool programs and family care homes, in indoor public places and certain outdoor areas on state property and hospital grounds similarly to smoking (with some exceptions).8,9,10,11

Tobacco/Vapor Sales Bans: The online sale of vapor products is prohibited in Vermont.12

Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019 prohibits sales of all tobacco and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. FDA stated law became effective on that date. States may choose to continue with current age law at the risk of losing federal funding. Vermont already bans the sale of tobacco and vapor products to minors and adults under the age of 21 years old.1

Flavor Bans: Federal law prohibits the sale of closed system devices (pods, cartridges) containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco or menthol.

9 Tips for Being an Advocate

get to know your lawmakers

and where they stand on important issues. If you can, set up a face-to-face meeting to express your concerns. Otherwise, call or send a letter or email.

track local legislation

through your municipal websites using keyword alerts. City officials can help you set these up.

share casaa calls to action

on social media and with friends and family.

complete our calls to action

sharing them is great, but make sure you complete our CTAs yourself and make your voice heard!

hearings & meetings

even if you don't feel comfortable speaking, just being physically present can make a huge impact when many people show up to show their support for those speaking.

register to vote

and make sure you participate in local, state, and federal elections.

alert casaa
to local legislation

in your area. We rely on crowdsourcing some information from our members - no one knows your community better than you!

spread the word

encourage everyone you know to join CASAA and participate in CTAs. Our strength is in our numbers!

follow us on social media

for access to the latest news, science, and information. Be sure to join your state's Facebook group as well!
We Can't Do It Without Your Support

We rely on donations from generous supporters like you.
Every little bit helps!