the state of
State Legislative Info
Looking for the
Join your state's Facebook group!
Share news, events, and upcoming legislation with other members near you
current laws & taxes
regulating smokeless tobacco & vapor products
9 tips for being an advocate
with national calls to action
Connecticut CALLS TO ACTION
Connecticut – Stop a Flavor Ban!
TAKE ACTION – Stop HB 6488 which would ban the sale of nicotine and tobacco products in flavors other than tobacco or menthol.
No Calls to Action?
If you’re seeing this post it means that CASAA hasn’t issued any Calls to Action for your state, or that
Find Your Legislators
Connecticut LAWS & TAXES
- It is illegal to sell, give or deliver tobacco or vapor products to a minor under the age of 21.1
- It is illegal for any person under 21 years of age to purchase or misrepresent their age to purchase tobacco in any form and vapor products, or possesses tobacco in any form and vapor products in any public place.2,5
- Sellers of vapor products must obtain a certificate of dealer registration from the Commissioner of Consumer Protection. The certificate requires a one-time fee of $75 and an annual fee of $400.3
- It is prohibited to use vapor products in all indoor places where smoking is prohibited, including bars and restaurants.2,4
- Local governments are prohibited from regulating vaping more stringently than the state.4
- Direct delivery to a consumer requires the signature of a person age twenty-one or older at the shipping address prior to delivery, after requiring the signer to demonstrate that he or she is age twenty-one or older by providing a valid motor vehicle operator’s license or a valid identity card.9
Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019 prohibits sales of all tobacco and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. FDA stated law became effective on that date. States may choose to continue with current age law at the risk of losing federal funding. Connecticut already bans the sale of tobacco and vapor products to adults under the age of 21 years old.1
Flavor Bans: Federal law prohibits the sale of closed system devices (pods, cartridges) containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco or menthol.
- The tax rate on “tobacco products” is 50% of the wholesale price as well as $3.00 per ounce and a proportionate tax at a like rate on all fractional parts of an ounce.6,7
- Effective December 1, 2017, and applicable to sales occurring on or after December 1, 2017, there is a 50% reduction of the tax imposed on tobacco products manufactured, purchased, imported, received, or acquired in Connecticut, for any product that the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services has determined to be a “modified risk tobacco product”pursuant to 21 U.S.C. § 387k, as amended from time to time.6
- Beginning on October 1, 2019, a tax was imposed on the first sale or use in Connecticut of any electronic cigarette product at a rate of either $0.40 per milliliter of the electronic cigarette liquid contained within an electronic cigarette product that is prefilled, sealed by the manufacturer and not intended to be refillable, or 10% of the wholesale sales price of any other electronic cigarette product.8
Updated February 2023