the state of
State Legislative Info
Looking for the
Join your state's Facebook group!
Share news, events, and upcoming legislation with other members near you
current laws & taxes
regulating smokeless tobacco & vapor products
9 tips for being an advocate
with national calls to action
Tennessee CALLS TO ACTION
No Calls to Action?
If you’re seeing this post it means that CASAA hasn’t issued any Calls to Action for your state, or that
Find Your Legislators
Tennessee LAWS & TAXES
- The sale or distribution to, and purchase or possession of vapor products, by persons under the age of 18 years old, is prohibited.1,2
- e-Liquid containers must be child resistant.3
- Use of vapor products is prohibited at the Tennessee Technological University, Cookeville Student Housing.4
- Tennessee’s Clean Indoor Air Act has not been amended to prohibit the use of vapor products where smoking is prohibited. The following municipalities have restrictions on vaping: Spring Hill (in parks).
Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019 prohibits sales of all tobacco and vapor products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. FDA stated law became effective on that date. States may choose to continue with current age law at the risk of losing federal funding.
Flavor Bans: Federal law prohibits the sale of closed system devices (pods, cartridges) containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco or menthol.
- Vapor products do not have an additional state excise tax.
- Smoke-free tobacco products are subject to a state excise tax of 6.60% of the wholesale price.5
Updated February 2023